Solitude

Here I stand, before thee
Defenseless as an aging tree
Ties, bonds and love that wane as I flee
For the endless abyss that now beckons me…
Here I stand, before thee
Empty and alone as one can ever be
Vast void spaces as far as the eyes can see
Hesitant and torn …a  heart that cries in a final desperate plea
Here I stand before thee
Swirling winds that engirdle with evil glee
Sonorous whispers.. “you’ll be free.. you’ll be free”
As dreams and hopes of a lifetime fade in memory
Broken and torn … feeling like the weest  wee
A prisoner in a world where solitude quells  ‘WE’
And so, Here I stand before thee,
Defenseless as an aging tree
Dreading the unbeknown fate that awaits me…
 Not knowing where to go, or what to be…
Leave a Reply

